poetics, time, body disruption and marginally queer solutions

Tuesday, June 08, 2004

Congress Member sign transgender statement

WASHINGTON, DC (June 8, 2004) 150 Members of Congress have signed a Diversity Statement banning discrimination in their Congressional offices based on individuals’ sexual orientation and gender identity and expression.

The recent additions of Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD) and Rep. Norm Dicks (D-WA) lifted the signatory count to 150. Signatories currently include 127 Representatives, 23 Senators, 132 Democrats, 16 Republicans and 2 Independents.

The Statement is jointly promoted on Capitol Hill by the Gender Public Advocacy Coalition (GenderPAC) and the Human Rights Campaign (HRC). HRC and GenderPAC joined forces at the beginning of the 108th Congress; prior to that, they had each promoted separate Diversity Statements for sexual orientation or gender identity and expression, respectively.

“Congressional support for gender identity and expression protections continues to increase. We hope this reflects expanding support for including such protections in federal legislation like the Employment Non-Discrimination Act and the federal Hate Crimes Bill,” said GenderPAC Executive Director Riki Wilchins.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home